Sometimes, closing a case isn’t enough. If sensitive information gets entered into a case this may need to be purged permanently. This article shows the steps to prevent this issue by deleting bug events and attachments.
FogBugz On Demand or FogBugz On Site account
Enable FogBugz Ocelot
Administrator Log in
FogBugz/Manuscript is built around the idea of capturing and tracking everything about your project.
A closed case is, for the purposes of issue tracking, the same as deleted. It no longer shows up in filters, it’s not assigned to anyone. It can be found only by filtering for closed cases or by searching for text in it specifically.
It has been found that once people get used to the idea of just closing a case and moving on, it never comes up again.
Sometimes, closing a case isn’t enough.
- Administrators: can edit any case and delete “bug events” (comments and emails). Individual events must be deleted, not entire cases, and the user who deleted an event is noted on the event for auditing purposes.
- Normal User: Get the help of an administrator.
Additionally, files attached to bug events can also be deleted. Both administrators and normal users can delete attached files on cases they can edit.
Think carefully before you delete. This is not a recycling-bin style delete: once it’s gone, it’s gone. If it’s not sensitive information, you may be better off closing the case.
Deleting a Bug Event
- Avery Customer wants to back up their personal data. Currently, Avery stuffs piles of paper in the coffee table drawer. Unfortunately, they sent the information to your FogBugz on Demand/Manuscript site in an email.
- One of your FogBugz on Demand/Manuscript site administrators is notified, and then click the Edit button to edit the case, just like they were adding a new bug event. Only now, each existing bug event also has an “x” button at the upper-right hand corner.
- The Administrator clicks the x button and is warned that they’re about to irreversibly delete the bug event. Then click Permanently Delete!
- The case remains in Case Edit mode, with one change: the event shows up as Removed. Now Avery Customer’s Netflix password is no longer in your FogBugz On Demand/Manuscript account, and everyone can rest easy. Cancel the edit, or to be thorough, make a note as to why the bug event was removed and click Save.
Deleting an Attachment
If Avery Customer were to have sent you their Netflix bill as an attachment instead of sending you their Netflix password in an email, you could delete the attached file.
- Click the Edit button to edit the case.
- Find the attachment you wish to delete
- Click the “X” to the right of the attached file’s name. Click “OK” in the resulting pop-up.