Permissions and Visibility


Follow

Overview

FogBugz allows you to set up groups of users who can be granted permission to read or modify certain parts of FogBugz selectively. Permissions can be granted directly to a user or a group, and allow for different levels of access to Projects, Wikis, and Discussion Groups. 

 

Contents

 


Information

 

Types of Users

Read the User Accounts and Administration article to understand the difference between the user types (Normal, Administrator, Virtual, Community, and Anonymous).

Back to top

 

Projects

Access to cases is controlled at the project level. Normal users can be given permission to view cases, submit cases, or to be a project administrator. Community users can only be given permission to submit cases and view cases they have already submitted.

To set up project permissions:

  1. From the Avatar menu, click Projects.

  2. Click on the Edit button on the left for the Project you want to edit.

  3. Click on Edit Permissions

  4. Click on Add User or Group to give a new User or Group permission.

    NOTE: When swapping user groups for more restrictive permissions, then also remove the default All Normal Users group by clicking the recycle bin icon in the Delete column.
  5. Select the appropriate radio buttons for the permissions you want to grant.

    • Read: Read-only permissions to cases in this project 

    • Modify: Ability to modify cases (comment, change areas, priority, etc.) in this project

    • Admin: A project administrator

Tip: When a new project is created, the initial permissions are set to allow the group All Normal UsersTo change this, while creating a new project on the new project screen, under Initial Permissions, choose the Clone Project option to copy the permissions of the project that has the desired permissions to the new project. 

 

Wikis and Discussion Groups

Both normal and community users can be given access to a Wiki or Discussion Group. Normal users can be given read, write, or administrator privileges, while community users can be given permission only to read or write.

To setup wiki or discussion group permissions:

  1. Go to Wiki > Manage Wikis or Discuss > Manage Discussions.

  2. Click on the Configure button on the left for the Wiki or Discussion Group you want to edit.

  3. Click on Edit Permissions

  4. Click on Add User or Group to give permission to a new User or Group.

  5. Select the appropriate radio buttons for the permissions you want to grant.

 Back to top

 

Promoting Normal Users

There are two types of administrators: Site Administrators, and administrators who have been given additional permission on a specific Project, Wiki, or Discussion Group. Site Administrators have full control over all areas of FogBugz. They are the only users that can edit permissions or Create/Delete Projects, Wikis, and Discussion Groups. Non-Site Administrators get control over their respective areas, as described below:

 

Projects

Project Administrators cannot create or delete projects, and cannot assign project admin permissions to other users, but otherwise have full control over their own projects, including the ability to:

  • create, edit, and delete areas

  • create, edit, and delete milestones

  • modify project settings

  • assign only modify or read permissions to users or groups within the project admin’s visibility

  • create and assign workflows to the project

  • edit assigned workflows to the project created by other project admins

 

Wikis

Wiki administrators cannot create or delete wikis or assign wiki admin permissions to other users, but otherwise have full control over their own wikis, including the ability to:

  • create, edit, and delete templates
  • modify wiki settings
  • assign only modify or read permissions to users or groups within the wiki admin’s visibility

 

Discussion Groups

Discussion Group Administrators cannot create or delete discussion groups or assign discussion group admin permissions to other users, but otherwise have full control over their own discussion groups, including the ability to:

  • moderate discussions (deleting and undeleting posts)

  • see the email address and IP address of a poster

  • modify discussion group settings

  • modify discussion group layouts

  • assign only modify or read permissions to users or groups within the discussion group admin’s visibility

 Back to top

 

Visibility

Isolating Users from One Another

In various parts of the FogBugz user interface, you can see a list of users in a dropdown list. FogBugz will only show each user the names of people who have some project or group in common.

For example, Alice and Bob will not see each other’s names in any dropdown lists with the following group setup:

  • Development group: Alice, Ted, Joan
  • Administration group: Bob, Emily

However, suppose we create a Project called Bob’s Project and give the Development Group and Bob permission on it. Then Bob and Alice would be able to see each other. Also, note that if we give All Normal Users permission on a project, then everyone can see one another. 

 

Mailbox Usage Rules

For a user to initiate an email from a specific mailbox, they must have read access to a project, and the mailbox they wish to use must be set to sort incoming messages within an area in that project. They must also have write access to the project from which they would like to send emails. Only if these conditions are met will a user be able to initiate outgoing emails from a given mailbox, and in that situation, they still will not be able to reply to emails moved from the mailbox associated project to the project on which they have “modify” permissions.

 

Other Visibility Rules

There are a few other rules to keep in mind if you are concerned about user visibility:

 Back to top

 

Special Permissions

The following permissions are not related to project, wiki, and discussion group permissions.

 

Snippet Management

All site administrators have permission to manage global snippets. Other users can only create, edit, and delete their own personal snippets. If a normal user needs permission to manage global snippets, site administrators can grant them (or a group of users) on the snippet page.

Note: Granting snippet permissions to two otherwise isolated users does not cause them to see each other in FogBugz.

Back to top