Trial or Free Tier FogBugz On-Demand Account Gives an Internal Server Error


Follow

Overview

It might happen that you cannot access your trial or free tier FogBugz On-Demand because it gives you one of the following errors:

  • HTTP Internal Server Error 500
  • Account Not Found

If you haven't used or accessed your free tier or trial account for a longer period (several months), it might have been removed.

Before contacting us check for other potential reasons Why is FogBugz On-Demand Slow or Unavailable.

 


Diagnosis

Potential customers create free FogBugz trial accounts on a daily basis. After a customer tries FogBugz, they have the option to change the trial account into a paid account. This way customers do not lose the data they have added during the trial period and make the transition to a longer collaboration with FogBugz easier.

But usually what actually happens when customers open a paid account is that they create a new account, leaving the sandbox trial account un-closed. This takes up resources on our servers.

 


Information

To free up the unused resources, we implemented a regular clean-up process.

 

Identifying unused accounts

Every three months we check the FogBugz On-Demand accounts usages and we mark for internal review the ones that fulfill the following conditions:

  • accounts that were not accessed in the last 12 months
  • customers that did not pay for more than 90 days
Please note: if you previously were a paying customer, but you requested to be downgraded to a free tier, your account might be included in this selection. So please make sure that you check-in regularly to your FogBugz On-Demand account. If you notice that your account has been removed, follow the steps described in Restoring the removed accounts section.

 

Reviewing the unused accounts

Our BU team reviews the selected accounts and approves the removal of the accounts.

 

Removing the selected accounts

Our SaaS Ops team removes the unused accounts approved by BU for removal.

Please note: there are no notifications sent to account owners about the planned account removal, neither about the actual removal.

 

Restoring the removed accounts

Backups are kept for 30 days. If you would like to have your account restored, please submit a ticket to our support team requesting the account restoration. Your request will be forwarded to our BU team, who will review your request, and if the backup for your account is still available, our SaaS Ops team will restore it for you.

If the account can not be restored because we do not have any backups for the deleted instance then the only option available is to start a new FogBugz On-Demand instance by navigating to Try FogBugz.

Back to the top