Potential customers create free FogBugz trial accounts on a daily basis. Since these accounts often are not closed by our customers after trying out FogBugz, we need to clean-up ourselves to free up unused resources (disk space).
A hint that your trial account might have been removed is that you get one of the messages below when trying to access your FogBugz On-Demand account:
- Account Not Found
- Internal Server Error 500
After a customer tries FogBugz, they have the option to change the trial account into a paid account. This way customers do not lose whatever data they have added during the trial period and makes the transition to a longer collaboration easier.
But usually what actually happens when customers open a paid account is that they create a new account, leaving the sandbox trial account un-closed. This takes up resources on our servers.
To free up the unused resources, we implemented a regular clean-up process.
Identifying unused accounts
Every three months we check the FogBugz On-Demand accounts usages and we mark for internal review the ones that fulfill the following conditions:
- accounts that were not accessed in the last 12 months
- customers that did not pay for more than 90 days
Reviewing the unused accounts
Our BU team reviews the selected accounts and approves the removal of the accounts.
Removing the selected accounts
Our SaaS Ops team removes the unused accounts approved by BU for removal.
Restoring the removed accounts
Backups are kept for 30 days. If you would like to have your account restored, please submit a ticket to our support team requesting the account restoration. Your request will be forwarded to our BU team, who will review your request, and if the backup for your account is still available, our SaaS Ops team will restore it for you.
If the account can not be restored because we do not have any backups for the deleted instance then the only option available is to start a new FogBugz On-Demand instance by navigating to Try FogBugz.